CIRI seeking nominations

CIRI is seeking nominations for its 2012 CIRI Shareholder and Elder Shareholder of the Year Awards. Nominations must be received by CIRI by 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 13, and may only be submitted by CIRI shareholders and descendants. The awards recognize shareholders for their exemplary dedication to Alaska Native culture, heritage and communities, and will be presented at a CIRI Friendship Potlatch this fall. 
CIRI is also seeking recommendations for its formal nominations to the Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN) President’s Awards. The AFN Awards spotlight Alaska Native people who have excelled in one of 12 categories of achievement. Award recipients will be recognized at the 2012 AFN Convention at the Dena’ina Civic and Convention Center in Anchorage.
Previous Elder Shareholder of the Year recipients: Marjorie Jordan, Edna Linderman and Virginia Trenton, 2011.
Previous Shareholder of the Year recipients: Connie Wirz, 2011; Mary Lou Bottorff, 2010; Bob Juliussen, 2009; Jon Ross, 2008; Dr. James L. Simpson, 2007; Donita Peter, 2006; James Segura Sr., 2005; Alberta Stephan, 2004; Sava Stephan Sr. and Feodoria Kallander Pennington, 2003; Katie Wade, 2002; Lillian Lapp, 2001; Daisy Demientieff, 2000 and 1995; Emil Dolchok, 1999; Janie Leask, 1998; Joseph Oskolkoff, 1997; Howard Wilson, 1996.