2009 CIRI Board election results

CIRI shareholders elected five members to the CIRI Board of Directors at the 36th annual meeting of CIRI shareholders on Saturday, June 6 at the Central Peninsula Sports Center in Soldotna, Alaska. The following five individuals were elected to three-year terms ending in 2012:

Douglas W. Fifer
Erik I. Frostad
Jeffrey A. Gonnason, O.D.
Ted S. Kroto Sr.
Louis “Lou” Nagy Jr.

The new Board of Directors met immediately after the annual meeting and elected the following officers:

Chairman Charles G. Anderson
Vice chairman Patrick M. Marrs
Secretary Thomas P. Huhndorf
Treasurer Michael R. Boling
Assistant secretary Douglas W. Fifer
Assistant treasurer Penny L. Carty

CIRI has a 15-member Board of Directors who serve staggered 3-year terms. Each year shareholders vote at the company’s annual meeting, either in person or by proxy, to fill five Board seats.

Following the annual meeting, new Shareholder Participation Committee members were chosen by random drawing from the names of shareholders who indicated an interest in participating on a committee and correctly answered a questionnaire about CIRI. The new member names and questionnaire results will be published in the July issue of Raven’s Circle.

The annual meeting featured a business report by CIRI President and Chief Executive Officer Margie Brown. Shareholders approved the 2008 annual meeting minutes and listened to a keynote presentation from Sasha Lindgren with the Kenaitze Indian Tribe about the organization’s Russian River Research Center. CIRI’s Shareholder Participation Committee members updated shareholders on their purpose and activities throughout the year. Shareholders were treated to a performance by Bunny Swan-Gease.